R.I.P. Bionic 2010-2010

10 09 2010

Speaking at a press event for Burlesque (squeeeeeal!) X-tina let it slip that she is done with all things Bionic.
Photobucket

She said “The creative process that involved Bionic is over, I did what I wanted to do and I’m satisfied with it. If the album sells or if the songs are a hit, I don’t care and I don’t need to know it, I did my part and I gave 100% while I was doing it, and I’m proud of this work…The creative process is my thing, I’m an artist and once something is over, I look forward for what is next, and I don’t look back.”

Honey Honey Honey. You can spin it how you want. Mistakes were made. The first single. Although I loved “Not Myself Tonight”, the bi-sexual Madonna loving video that accompanied it had a “been there, done that” feel. Not a good quality to have. People didn’t want X-tina back. They wanted Christina back. The second problem was ignoring the fact that the first single was going nowhere fast, and not getting something else out pronto.

For me the album was uneven. The most spectacular proof of this was the interlude w/ hubby Bratman and their baby “singing like mama does” right after a song entitled “Sex For Breakfast”. Again. Ewwwwwwwwww. Not okay.

She has given us so much good music over the years and I want to end my critique of the Bionic era on a good note. “Vanity” should have been released as a single. It is as cocky as she wanted to be, but had the balls to back it up. It was a fun self assured romp that Queens all over the South are using as an anthem as we speak. It hurts me to think of the AMAZING remixes that could have been!!!!!

I know she is going to take a hit for Burlesque too- which although I will love- is basically going to be Showgirls Part 2. For me that is an amazing thing. For the mainstream media and middle of the road fans- not so much. Could this be the end of the Superstar?

Have a listen to “Vanity” below. Should it have been a single? Sound off below!


Christina Aguilera – Vanity by maxhipo

Actions

Information




