A Swell Time Was Had

8 12 2009

The Swell Season w/The Frames

As you know I’m not big on concert reviews. It’s like a friend telling you about that great party you weren’t invited to last night or watching Top Chef. But I did want to announce that my 5 HD videos of Academy Award Winners Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová from the movie Once are up on my You Tube Channel now, and to make an observation… We got great seats since we were guests of Colm, the fiddle player from Glen’s band The Frames, who’s my best bud’s cousin. So I was so happy I brought my video camera along with an unobstructed view of the stage for the show last Friday.  Now, we’ve all been to shows in the past 10 years where hundreds of digital cams, cell phones, and smart phones have been held aloft later to be uploaded to various networking sites for public consumption. The little movies are loving gifts from fan to fan, to bring you into a show you maybe couldn’t afford or to an artist who you may not know.  This has only encouraged more homebodies to attend live concerts and discover new music. A far cry from the days of the 80’s when bootleggers were banished like criminals from live shows lest they share the music event with the world. And I’m not saying bootleggers shouldn’t be turned away. But the difference is there’s a big difference between getting video or audio clips for posting and someone recording a high quality audio to turn into a profit. To cut a long story short, I got reprimanded by the band’s management twice for recording clips on my Flipcam! They’re road manager actually told me to delete these tiny clips I’d taken from 100 feet away on a tiny cam.  For what? What on earth could the harm be of me sharing my love for this band? My guess is that this middle-aged man has been working in the industry for 40 years and was trained in the era of “Press Eject And Give Me The Tape”. Also, may have been the fact that my cam looked very cool unlike the 30 other iPhones snagging clips.  Well, just a note to him: I got the clips and I’m not making a dime. In fact, I’m hoping readers of the blog will share this and someone will check out more and become a fan too. That’s what we do. No harm. No foul. Just love. Love the Swell Season. Enjoy. http://www.youtube.com/user/mmoder

Actions

Information




