The Joans: a quick review

9 09 2009

the joansIf you’re gay and have somewhat of a sense of camp yet good taste in music, you’ve seen The Joans around town. These kids are either everywhere or we have the same tastes since I’ve caught them live 4 times and I don’t get out much. The first time I heard about them, I figured them to be just a novelty act, but what immediately hit me, after I got past the male lead singer in full drag as Joan Crawford, was that these guys cared about the music and did a great job WHILE making you laugh. And that’s the key to rising above a standard novelty act. Whether this is intentional or not, the moniker of The Joans, to me says as much about a tip of the hat to The Smiths and The Ramones (their last names are all Joans), and that era as it does to their visual style, looking like they all stepped right out of a Douglas Sirk movie.

Their self titled debut album hit this last week and I can’t wait to hear it based on the hilarious video for I’m Not Mad At You, I’m Mad At The Dirt:

Check out their great site with info on their next live gig as well:

http://www.thejoansband.com

http://www.myspace.com/thejoansband

Actions

Information




