Top Ten Remixes Ever: Marc’s #1 – Missing EBTG 2-fer!

2 09 2009

Missing EBTG SingleAnyone who knows my tastes at all knows not only is Everything But the Girl in my top 3 favorite music acts ever, but Missing is my all time favorite song EVER (followed by When Doves Cry and David Sylvian’s Before the Bullfight). So comes as no surprise that my number 1 would be a remix of this perfect song. What is surprising is that I couldn’t come up with the singular sensational mix of it, so you’re kind of getting a 2fer.

When push comes to shove, I’d have to lean on the best of the original mixes, The Chris & James Full On Mix from their original CD single. To this day, no other mix in my library has such a subtle and teasing build so that by the time you reach the summit you want it SO badly you can’t stand it. And like any good song, every time feels like the first time you heard it. Just a stroke of brilliance.

Missing (Chris & James Full On)
https://danceaboutarc.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/missing-chris-james-full-on.mp3″

But recently Paul “Dance Troll Dance” Oakenfold reworked Missing completely right down to the studs creating a very Max Martin goes to heaven style of epic song complete with all new backing music repleat with piano, orchestra, live drums and oddly autotune (I know. Grr).

Missing (Oakenfold 2008 Remix)
https://danceaboutarc.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/missing-oakenfold-2008-remix.mp3″

Actions

Information

One response

2 09 2009
Steven Eliot

Such a good choice for a number 1.




